side menu icon

Board of Directors & Governance

Governance structures are part of every Girl Scout council and are defined by the council bylaws.

Girl Scouts of NYPENN Pathway’s governing body is its board of directors. Under leadership of the chair, the board maintains the integrity & purposes of Girl Scouting within our council’s jurisdiction.

The board’s responsibilities include influence policy regarding the council goals, issues affecting girls, and issues affecting the business of the organization, as well as strategic planning, financial oversight, and fund development.

Interested in sharing your talents with GSNYPENN? Complete the Board Interest form today!

For more information or to schedule a meeting, email

Board of Directors 2021-2022


Karen Hegeman, Board Chair
Theresa, NY

Tiffany Alvarez Smith, 1st Vice Chair
Syracuse, NY

Judi Dixon, 2nd Vice Chair 
Memphis, NY

Susan Duerr, Treasurer

North Syracuse, NY

Cindy Demo, Secretary
Alexandria Bay, NY


Kim Lamar Shelton
Vestal NY & Mansfield, PA

Judy Suddaby
Syracuse, NY

Kathy Burke Barry
Syracuse, NY

Carl McLaughlin
Watertown, NY

Deb Sanderson
Norwich, NY

Katie MacIntyre
Auburn, NY

Claire Kepner
Fly Creek, NY

Mike Sabo
Endicott, NY

Jane Slack
Old Forge, NY

Michelle McCabe-Szczepanski
Binghamton, NY

Olivia Kassoum-Amadou
Fort Drum, NY

Tiffany Campau
Syracuse, NY

Board Development Committee 2021-2022

Board Development Committee

Kim Lamar Shelton, Chair
Vestal, NY & Mansfield, PA

Carl McLaughlin
Watertown, NY

Sue Duerr
North Syracuse, NY

Deb Sanderson
Norwich, NY 

Kimberly Westcott
Oswego, NY

Amy Nugent
Ogdensburg, NY

Council Delegates

Voting Members of the Corporation (Council) are convened at the council’s Annual Meeting and special meetings of the corporation to elect the board of directors, board development committee, and National Council Delegates/Alternates as appropriate, in addition to approving council bylaws.  Voting members of the corporation include the board of directors, the board development committee, and the council delegates.

Council Delegates consist of members age 14 and above and adult volunteers elected in their Service Unit.

Council Delegates

2020-2022 NCS Delegates

Karen Hegeman
Board Chair

Julie Dale

Halley Mahardy
SU 240

Katie MacIntyre
Board Member

Natalie Thompson
SU 343

Amanda Coyle
SU 112

Eileen Tallmadge
SU 364

Sarah Westcott
SU 104

Kimberly Westcott
SU 104

Autumn Tayler
SU 265

Julie Smith – Alternate
SU 343

Katherine Saluti - Alternate
SU 137

Delegate Meeting Minutes